Review: A new kind of fairy

Through the UnsungYA blog blitz, I learned about a number of authors that are new to me, or unknown books from authors I do read. This past week was February vacation for me, and although I had a lot of homework to do, I also did a fair amount of reading.

First up from my UnsungYA reading list: Justine Larbalestier’s How to Ditch Your Fairy.
How to Ditch Your Fairy

Fantastic world building in this book, although it took a bit of time. I almost wish there a little more to it, such as a visit to Ravenna to gain some perspective on its differences from New Avalon. Silly me, I didn’t realize until I finished the book that a glossary existed at the back explaining some of the slang. Although most of it I could figure out from context, I wish I discovered that sooner. I admire Ms. Larbalestier’s use of “pulchritudinous”.

Charlie, the main character, was easily relatable as a teenage girl whose life is further complicated by an unwanted fairy. The most entertaining part of the book for me was definitely the climax of the story. Laughed out loud at Fiorenze’s and Charlie’s antics.

Without revealing too much (I hope), the only change I would have made involves the ending. Something happens that I think takes away from Charlie’s growth as a character.

I can’t wait to share this with my students after vacation!



Source
: personal copy from Goodreads swap

Related reads
:

2 Comments

Filed under Review, UnsungYA

2 responses to “Review: A new kind of fairy

  1. Laura

    I’ve had this one on my shelf for a long while and have yet to read it, even though I love Ms. Larbalestier’s other work. I don’t know what I’m saving it for, haha. Your review makes me want to bump it up on my reading list. šŸ™‚

  2. CazzyLibrarian

    Laura, I look forward to hearing/reading your response to the book. This was actually my first reading encounter with Justine Larbalestier, and even though it wasn’t a five-star read for me, it was enough to get me interested in reading more!